The cast

Oral histories




If you read the back of your albums from the 70s, you'll have come across Eddie Seago - if not, then his name is probably unfamiliar, since he doesn't seem to have gone into the music business looking for stardom. In fact he started off in advertising, but he was an old school-friend of Mike Leander and as Leander became an increasingly important player in the pop industry, Seago got dragged into it as well. Together they wrote 'Early In The Morning' a 1969 hit for Vanity Fare and 'Another Time Another Place', originally intended as a Eurovision entry but subsequently a 1971 hit for Englebert Humperdinck.

After Leander struck it really big in 1972 with the invention of Gary Glitter, he set up a management company, Rock Artists Management, to handle his growing roster of clients, and invited Seago to establish a publishing wing called RAM Publishing. As one of Leander's closest colleagues, Seago thus had an involvement in the subsequent careers of not only Gary, but also The Glitter Band and the various other RAM artists: Barry Blue, Hello and Jet.

He also continued his song-writing collaborations though on a fairly sporadic basis - he is co-credited on The Glitter Band's funk classic 'Makes You Blind', on John Rossall's solo single 'You'll Never Know' and on much of Gary's Silver Star album. In his spare time he wrote the English lyrics to 'Y Viva Espana' and later in the decade helped Adrian Baker invent the disco act Liquid Gold.

His increasing interest in dance subsequently proved invaluable when Gary's career was re-launched (again) in 1984 with 'Dance Me Up', and is still in evidence today: he works with the hip dance label Champion.

Eddie Amoo
Ken Andrew
Dave Bartram
Mike Batt
Wayne Bickerton
David Blaylock
Trevor Bolder
Jacko Boogie
Tony Burrows
Sally Carr
Tina Charles
David Courtney
Rob Davis
Richard Dodd
Patrick Doonan
Ray Dorset
Herbie Flowers
Ken Gold
Graham Gouldman
Dave Hill
Harvey Hinsley
John Hughes
Jim Irvin
Jimmy James
Steve Jones
Lorraine Kelly
Paul Layton
Les McKeown
Russell Mael
Johnny Moore
Mike Moran
Chris Norman
Bill Oddie
David Paton
Lyn Paul
Phil Pickett
Suzi Quatro
Chris Rae
Chris Redburn
Norman Rogerson
Ron Roker
John Rossall
Andy Scott
Eddie Seago
Mat Snow
Chris Spedding
John Springate
Ray Stiles
Alwyn W Turner
David Van Day
Phil Wainman
Johnny Wakelin
Jeff Wayne
Alan Williams
Pip Williams